I am joining Rachael Harrie‘s campaign and looking forward to it. I am doing a few things to get my mojo ready for November’s NaNoWriMo and Rachael’s site is one, besides NaNoWriMo Camp.

I am looking forward to sharing my thoughts and getting my creative juices flowing, as a novel has been percolating in my mind for a very long time. If you are a writer and want to join please do, it sounds like it will be a lot of fun.

I also joined Sparkfest, but I was a little late to participate in her writing prompts. I enjoyed one of the things to write about so I will share my post.

I remember all the way back to first grade and how I loved reading. I was late to learning my ABC’s, as my kindergarten didn’t teach it. However, the new school had taught their kindergarteners, so I needed tutoring by my new 15 year-old neighbor. I must have taken right off because I remember our lessons didn’t last long and I was reading. When I was around 8 I discovered I wanted to be a writer. My aunt and uncle took me on a trip from NY to Washington D.C., sometimes I truly think I am there daughter, that is how close we were. We rode a big black train and another new passion was born, I fell in love with trains. It was in the D.C. train station that my Uncle Henry bought me the paperback book, Heidi by Johanna Spyri. I am still unsure what thrilled me more, the sights and sounds of D.C. or the book, but I related to the book. I was born in Germany and my grandparents had a farm, so it was very easy to place myself into the story. I remember doing that for as far back as my memories take me, I always got inside the story, whether it was Dick or Jane and their dog Spot, or the craziness of the short stories in Children’s Highlight. I knew when I was 8, that if someone can write a story about a girl living in the Swiss Alps that resonated with me, I could also.

Then my lovely sixth grade teacher (I truly wish I can remember her name but it just alludes me) had us read books and write to the authors. I received many wonderful responses, but unfortunately with two brothers, a sister, and numerous moves, those letters were lost, but I still treasure them.

I would have to say Flannery O’Conner has been one of the few authors that have inspired me. There is something in her short stories that draw me in and I feel as if I am in the plot; I feel their feelings, and can get inside their heads to see what their turmoils are. The Bobbsie Twins by Laura Lee Hope and the Cherry Ames series by Helen West, sparked my imagination and made me a devote fan of their series and serial publications.

During my time I have been hired to write copy for ads, grants, and scathing responses to newspaper articles and government officials. I have been told I have a knack for getting the truth across in a sarcastic manner that makes people take notice without getting mad. Currently I am a freelance journalist that covers politics for a local county paper, but I also get the pleasure of writing feature stories. I have meet some fascinating people through this.

I guess what I am trying to say, if it is in you, a story, a picture, a pattern, whatever, just go ahead and do it. Get yourself organized and prepared and go for it. You will never know the outcome if you don’t, you will just be left to wonder the ‘what if.’

Cathy von Hassel-Davies

